I like high heels, really high heels.

Every year I buy a new pair of sandals  and wear them everyday until they give out. This year I didn’t buy a new pair. I was trying to make do with the old ones.  The old ones really needed to be shredded, but I didn’t want to spend the money on a new pair. And then I found a really nice pair of 9 West flip-flops I bought a couple of years ago, UREKA!

A couple of months ago I read this, http://zenhabits.net/barefoot-philosophy/. The idea has been rolling around in my head (because I don’t have anything else to think about, not). I loved this concept.

When you’re barefoot you have to pay attention to where you step. Your awareness of now is heightened. You’re careful not to step on something sharp or icky.  It’s also uncomfortable (OK so are my 6 inch Kenneth Cole’s but in a different way).

Here’s the thing about being uncomfortable, it’s good for us. It makes us ask ourselves why we’re uncomfortable, and what can I actively do to change it. It makes us question the situation were in, and sometimes forces us into dialogs we might not want to have with ourselves and others.

The last two years have been uncomfortable. It has catapulted me onto a path I would have laughed at when I was comfortable.  It has woken me up to who I am, what I want, and how much I can take.

Walking barefoot is also natural. It’s feels good, think about walking in the warm sand. It makes me smile just to think of my feet on the sand. It also slows you down. You have to move slower. We all move so fast, from one activity to the next. When was the last time you really slowed down.  I always feel like I’m running. Running to the pool, running work, to get the boys, the school, to the doctors, etc. Sometime I just need to stop.

So until it starts to rain again, I’m wearing flip-flops.  I want to be in the moment and have to watch my step.  I need to learn to be present and not to worry about what’s going to happen next.

So barefoot, but never again pregnant.

If I had my life to live over,
I would start barefoot earlier in the spring
and stay that way later in the fall.
I would go to more dances.
I would ride more merry-go-rounds.
I would pick more daisies.

~ Nadine Stair
