“No man is an island unto himself” – John Donne

I am a gadget hag.

I love my blackberry almost as much as I love my kids. Think about it, it’s a piece of plastic that lets you talk to people (OK I hate talking on the phone), text, email, use FB, take picture, play games, use the internet, and listen to music.  Who needs connect to people when you have the entire world in the palm of  your hand.  And it’s connected to everything.

And why should I communicate like a human being when I can just update my FB status or show my approval by liking my friends’ statuses. Heck I don’t even talk to my ex, I just text or email him.

Why should I actually make an effort to find out how you really are when I can read it on MySpace (OK I don’t use MySpace). L-rd knows I’m professionally LinkedIn, but have yet to prostrate myself before Twitter.

Herein lies the problem, with the exception of meeting with friends here and there for lunch and the occasional disastrous date, I have stopped interacting with anybody besides co-workers and ninjas.

This morning I looked around. Everybody around me was plugged into their earphones or they were texting. Nobody was talking. We’ve all become islands. I talk to the guy I order my lunch from, more than I actually speak to my oldest friends.

I’m so twisted, I prefer to chat to a potential date BEFORE talking to him. Remember when the boy called the girl and said, “hey do you want to go to a movie”.  I can barely remember (of course I was out of the game for 15 years).

I think this new attitude of  “first let’s sleep together, and then we’ll decide if we want to see a movie” stems from this.  As a society we are disconnected, from ourselves, from the universe aka G-d, from our kids, from our friends, from our values, and simply from humanity.

Look at Egypt, they’ve been technology-less for a week and the entire nation is awake. People have come together, protecting businesses, and speaking up. They are simply connecting.  (Side bar – while I think this is not good for Israel, it has been amazing to watch.)

Don’t go looking for me to close my FB account (like that’s ever going to happen), but I’m going to make an effort to reach out more. I’m going to pick up the phone and say “hey I just wanted to know how you are”.  I’m going to smile at strangers, and talk to the hottie barista dude.

For myself, I don’t want to be an island anymore.

Blog posted via BlackBerry (Just Kidding).

No man is an island entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as any manner of thy friends or of thine own were; any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind. And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee. – John Donne


