Robert Burns had it right, kind of.

There are some acquaintance which if they never came to mind again, would not be the such a bad thing. Most of them have to do with my dating life. We can however, throw in a school principal, a couple of lawyers, an ex husband, oh wait, and whoever owns Leumi Card. All of those, I wish a long delightful life  far far far way from me and mine.

When I was in college I wrote some kind of schmuky paper on Burns, I can’t remember what it was about, but I remember it sucked. A lot like this year. It was a bunch BS I basically pulled out of my <fill in the blank>, and ran with it. Again much like this year.

2010 can only be describe as one of the best and worst years of my life.

Reasons it was the Best

  • I laughed a whole lot , at myself, at my dates (I mean you got to laugh at somebody that wants their feet scratched in the middle of Aroma), and with my kids. You can’t beat that!
  • I fell in love with the most amazing man I’ve ever met. In the next life baby, in the next life.
  • I can let go and let the universe take over.
  • I learned that I cannot control, nor do I want to control everything.
  • I learned how strong I am, that I can bear the weight. Not always successfully, not always in the best ways, but I can survive whatever life throws at me (OK G-d, this would be a GREAT! time to quit throwing things at me. My Crap quota is full).
  • I learned my value, maybe this should be number one. I learned that my value as a human being is no less than anybody else’s.
  • I swam a 10K, that’s a marathon swim folks. I rock.
  • I learned to demand what I want. No more will I settle for less than I deserve, just because it doesn’t feel nice to demand things.
  • I had the wildest dating year of my life.  Some true classics for Ripley’s, that’s for sure.
  • I was humbled. This is a big one. I learned to appreciate the non-tangible gifts I’ve been given. I lost all my “things”, and gained everything that truly matters. I am grateful to be forced to start over from less than zero.  It has humbled me, and taught me to place value on things that can not be bought.  It has made me change my parenting style. My children no longer think they deserve everything, and that everything can be given on demand.
  • I found internal balance.

Reasons it was the Worst Year

  • Leumi Card
  • Leumi Card’s Lawyers
  • Still Not Divorced (sigh)
  • Leumi Card
  • Problems with the Ninjas
  • Leumi Card
  • Losing a good friend. I still miss you every day, I wish it wasn’t so hard.
  • Leumi Card.
  • Pressure i.e., mini stroke at the age of 38, i.e., Leumi Card.
  • Lawyers, I really really hate lawyers.
  • No vacation

When I balance out the good vs. the bad in 2010, the good wins out hands down. Do I ever ever want to live through another year like this, not a snowball’s chance.

I have received, processed, and understood the universe’s message. And I am grateful, however I will be even more grateful when the universe moves off my doorstep and onto somebody else’s.

In the meantime, here’s hoping 2011 is better for all of us, and that there will be plenty of pints and plenty of laughter.

And surely ye’ll be your pint stoup
And surely I’ll be mine
And we’ll tak’ a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne.

